New South Bank Corporation Board appointed

A new South Bank Corporation Board has been appointed to oversee the iconic destination’s new Master Plan.

The new board will drive a period of renewal at the iconic Brisbane destination ahead of the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

It includes members nominated by the State Government and Brisbane City Council.

Susan Forrester AM, has been appointed Chairperson of the board for a three-year term from 1 January 2024.

Ms Forrester has extensive board and management experience, earning the Member of the Order of Australia for her significant service to business through governance and strategic roles.

The seven other board members are:

  • Mr Bruce Cowley;
  • Mr Michael Hill;
  • Ms Elsa Dalessio;
  • Dr Aysin Dedekorkut-Howes;
  • Ms Fiona Sperou;
  • Mr Julian Simmonds; and
  • Queensland Under Treasurer Michael Carey.

South Bank opened to the public in 1992 on the site of the former World Expo 88 and has become one of Queensland’s most iconic destinations.

South Bank will again hit the global stage during the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The appointment of the new board coincides with a new era for South Bank, with the final Future South Bank Master Plan set to provide a vision for the future of the 42-hectare precinct. 

The final Master Plan is due for release shortly and follows extensive consultation with the community and stakeholders.

Quotes attributable to Minister for State Development and Infrastructure Grace Grace:

“The Miles Government is committed to ensuring South Bank remains a world-class destination for generations to come.

“This is an incredibly exciting time of change for the ‘people’s place’ with the final master plan for this precinct set to bring renewal opportunities.

“With the new board in place, we can continue powering towards our vision of ensuring South Bank remains a world-class destination for locals and the millions of people who will visit the city before, during and after the Games.

“The new board members bring a wealth of experience and expertise across a range of fields including public and private sector corporate governance, tourism, planning, community engagement, innovation, finance, property and law.

“As someone who has previously served on the board of South Bank Corporation, I know this most iconic place is in great hands with these new appointees.

“I’d like to thank the previous interim board members for their service, which included overseeing the progression of the final Future South Bank Master Plan.”